Saajan Des Videseeare

ਸਾਜਨ ਦੇਸਿ ਵਿਦੇਸੀਅੜੇ ਸਾਨੇਹੜੇ ਦੇਦੀ ॥
saajan dhaes vidhaeseearrae saanaeharrae dhaedhee ||
O Friend, You have travelled so far from Your homeland; I send my message of love to You.
ਸਾਰਿ ਸਮਾਲੇ ਤਿਨ ਸਜਣਾ ਮੁੰਧ ਨੈਣ ਭਰੇਦੀ ॥
saar samaalae thin sajanaa mundhh nain bharaedhee ||
I cherish and remember that Friend; the eyes of this soul-bride are filled with tears.
ਮੁੰਧ ਨੈਣ ਭਰੇਦੀ ਗੁਣ ਸਾਰੇਦੀ ਕਿਉ ਪ੍ਰਭ ਮਿਲਾ ਪਿਆਰੇ ॥
mundhh nain bharaedhee gun saaraedhee kio prabh milaa piaarae ||
The eyes of the soul-bride are filled with tears; I dwell upon Your Glorious Virtues. How can I meet my Beloved Lord God?
ਮਾਰਗੁ ਪੰਥੁ ਨ ਜਾਣਉ ਵਿਖੜਾ ਕਿਉ ਪਾਈਐ ਪਿਰੁ ਪਾਰੇ ॥
maarag panthh n jaano vikharraa kio paaeeai pir paarae ||
I do not know the treacherous path, the way to You. How can I find You and cross over, O my Husband Lord?
ਸਤਿਗੁਰ ਸਬਦੀ ਮਿਲੈ ਵਿਛੁੰਨੀ ਤਨੁ ਮਨੁ ਆਗੈ ਰਾਖੈ ॥
sathigur sabadhee milai vishhunnee than man aagai raakhai ||
Through the Shabad, the Word of the True Guru, the separated soul-bride meets with the Lord; I place my body and mind before You.
ਨਾਨਕ ਅੰਮ੍ਰਿਤ ਬਿਰਖੁ ਮਹਾ ਰਸ ਫਲਿਆ ਮਿਲਿ ਪ੍ਰੀਤਮ ਰਸੁ ਚਾਖੈ ॥੩॥
naanak anmrith birakh mehaa ras faliaa mil preetham ras chaakhai ||3||
O Nanak, the ambrosial tree bears the most delicious fruits; meeting with my Beloved, I taste the sweet essence. ||3||

Today having absorbed the Shabad a little, I thought of the 5 Gursikhs in my life, who have brought me to the door of His Mansion. They are Bhajandeep Singh, Jasprit Singh, Bhagwan Singh, Ravneet Singh and Harmandeep Singh. There was a time when I didn’t even know what Amrit was. It was all around me but I wandered like a deranged traveler confusing oasis for a mirage. I came to know about the 5 morning Baanis for the first time, wanted to recite them. But I was told that it could be done only at Amrit Vela. So Jasprit veerji took up the initiative to bring me to Khalsa House. We, along with Bhajan veerji and Bhagwan veerji, used to do Paath, filling the first hours of the day with the Naam of the Pure One.

At that time I knew it was a life changing experience, ‘coz when you experience Him through Gurbani, you understand life for the first time. The love in the voice of Bhagwan veerji was so immaculate, he mesemerizes one and all when he sings Keertan or does Paath. Bhajan veerji has always lead by setting great examples, his discipline and commitment told me Sikhi was not just a religion. It was marrying your soul with the Lord.

I met all these Gursikhs thank to Ravneet veerji, his brief stint at MS when I joined made sure I got actively involved in SOCH group. All this while, as I was learning the good qualities that make you a Sikh, there was a push from behind, that made sure I didn’t fall back to my wretched self. That was from Harmandeep veerji, his humble nature, deep understanding of all things and self-criticism just completed the experience for me.

I cannot write more, I just hope we all meet again at Ravneet veerji’s wedding on 6th June. And again there will be Anhat Baani, Gur Shabad Jaani, Har Naam Har Ras Bhogo.

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa
Waheguru ji ki Fateh

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

