Humble Not Enough

 

Great shabad from Harmandir Sahib shared by Harshwinder veerji.

ਦਰਮਾਦੇ ਠਾਢੇ ਦਰਬਾਰਿ ॥
ਤੁਝ ਬਿਨੁ ਸੁਰਤਿ ਕਰੈ ਕੋ ਮੇਰੀ ਦਰਸਨੁ ਦੀਜੈ ਖੋਲ੍ਹ੍ਹਿ ਕਿਵਾਰ ॥੧|| ਰਹਾਉ ॥
I stand humbly at Your Court.
Who else can take care of me, other than You? Please open Your door, and grant me the Blessed Vision of Your Darshan.

Had been thinking about this Shabad in last 2-3 days … but I think of first line and realize how impossible it is to be humble. And if you are not humble, even if you go and request at Guru’s door, your wish will not be fulfilled. Being humble is like a requirement, maybe we can’t even find Guru’s Door without it. That could be the key or the Light which can help us search for the True Court of Lord.

Harshwinder Singh further said ‘It reminds me of keertan by Gurinder Singh veerji’ –

ਹਮ ਕੂਕਰ ਤੇਰੇ ਦਰਬਾਰਿ ॥ ਭਉਕਹਿ ਆਗੈ ਬਦਨੁ ਪਸਾਰਿ ॥੧|| ਰਹਾਉ ॥

I am a dog at Your Court, Lord. I open my snout and bark before it.

Is that related to being humble? Maybe yes, it is also about devotion and faithfulness. Are you faithful to your Guru? No not yet. Definitely not today. I am a shameless person. Suddenly when I am alone, I chant your name God. Walking alone after meeting those Gursikhs, suddenly I am ‘reminded’ of Simran and I seek you again. How can you light a lamp when you are keeping it out again and again in the rain? I don’t know where the balance is, I have to find it because I know it exists, and I have to reach it. Now back to the journey…

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

