Fate Future and Furman (ਫੁਰਮਾਨ)

ਕਬੀਰ ਜੋ ਮੈ ਚਿਤਵਉ ਨਾ ਕਰੈ ਕਿਆ ਮੇਰੇ ਚਿਤਵੇ ਹੋਇ ॥
Kabeer, whatever I wish for does not happen. What can I accomplish by merely thinking?

ਅਪਨਾ ਚਿਤਵਿਆ ਹਰਿ ਕਰੈ ਜੋ ਮੇਰੇ ਚਿਤਿ ਨ ਹੋਇ ॥੨੧੯॥
The Lord does whatever He wishes; and the Lord is not in my heart

I think the line is really important. We are always thinking and trying to predict the future, but we DON’T REMEMBER the one who is going to FASHION the future. I think the whole direction of Gurbani is to replace human behaviour (worries, fear, jealousy, doubt) with the ‘natural behaviour’ (Simran).

Is Guru pointing out some Mistake? What mistake? We all see mistakes! For Waheguru, it is just His Creation. How does the soul ‘merge’ with Guru? I guess are souls already part of Waheguru, we are in doubt because of duality of mind. Once we give that up, we are fine. Yes it is hard to understand and explain, and that’s why duality is something hard to get rid of.

ਕਬੀਰ ਲਾਗੀ ਪ੍ਰੀਤਿ ਸੁਜਾਨ ਸਿਉ ਬਰਜੈ ਲੋਗੁ ਅਜਾਨੁ ॥

That also depends, are ajaan person guided by Waheguru or by their own whim? Like I may report to my manager in my office, but I spend my whole day doing Facebook, then am not guided by my manager for sure!

(PS: And when I submit in my work, it is of lower quality as I have wasted some time doing something else.)

Before we compare our small existence with that of Waheguru and His Kudrat, think of you in your country! What role does a citizen have in the country? Nothing really significant. Still the citizen has to act in a way that’s in best interest of himself and people around him. Yet how the whole nation dynamics work, it’s totally awesome.

I really don’t know about balancing pleasure and devotion, but I believe that devotional things stick to you better. For me, I don’t remember that great restaurant I went to, or some nice sleep I had in a getaway resort, but I still remember the bliss I had in some kirtan samagams I attended in the last couple of years. Maybe things will become clearer with time.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

