The Fungus

It was late night ordeal trying to crack the code of sudoku. I was just crunching my brain forever to get the assignment done. In that moment of cerebral agony, I would grab whatever edible stuff I could and eat it. Thankfully I had a nice bag of fruits within reach. One by one the oranges went, there was the scented orange peel all around my laptop. While nothing seemed to work in my code, I grabbed the last orange. And it had some mould growth. I didn’t even check how it was inside. Just placed it back in the bag and piled the peel bits on top of it. Later in the night, I went out for a walk (nothing was still working out) and dumped the bag in garbage. I went to the main Columbia St. and a thought came to me. There are so many people in the world suffering from hunger. And when you are desperate  life is indeed sad. Many of those, would ignore the mould and peel open up the orange. They would be satisfied that the problem was limited only to the skin. And they will have a moment of happiness, with that juicy fruit, a gift of nature to man. It is now a gift so less in worth. I felt really bad about myself. The whole people-wasting-food is just so real. And you can never appreciate something you don’t hesitate to throw away.

ਜਿਹ ਪ੍ਰਸਾਦਿ ਛਤੀਹ ਅੰਮ੍ਰਿਤ ਖਾਹਿ ॥
By His Grace, you partake of the thirty-six delicacies;

ਤਿਸੁ ਠਾਕੁਰ ਕਉ ਰਖੁ ਮਨ ਮਾਹਿ ॥
enshrine that Lord and Master within your mind.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

