People Ask

I have been meeting people asking me that repeated set of questions:

Where have you come from?

Where will you go when you are done?

I answer in a way that makes sense to them… but not to me. I am lost in the answers I know. And I don’t tell them, or they will say I take things too seriously.

I wasted much part of the evening just because I couldn’t say no. But someone also ended it on a good note by saying I am smart. It was like a cruel joke, outcome of the sum of all uncertainties, trying to justify my meaningless existence.

The walk back, it was windy out there. Not too cold thought the roads were icy and slippery. And that walk to the campus was like the most beautiful thing I had experienced in a long time. The infinite sky enveloped in a darkness no one can explain. People going by, but you don’t feel alone for the first time. No one is in rush and there is peace.

And very slowly, I sing these lines to those present:

ਸਤਿਗੁਰੁ ਸਿਖ ਕਉ ਨਾਮ ਧਨੁ ਦੇਇ ॥ ਗੁਰ ਕਾ ਸਿਖੁ ਵਡਭਾਗੀ ਹੇ ॥

The True Guru gives His Sikh the wealth of the Naam. The Sikh of the Guru is very fortunate.

PS: I think the first question can be answered the way Ishna ji of SPN puts it –

I am just a billion year old carbon.

Uncategorized

One thought on “People Ask

Leave a Reply

